Vacancy Information

Are you interested in serving on the Design Commission? If so, Vacancies on City Boards and Commissions are opened annually on April 6th or as needed.

To place an application for becoming a Design Commissioner, please complete the application below. They will be kept on file for when vacancies are available. Thank you.

Design Commission Application

About the Commission

The purposes of the Design Commission is to provide advice to the Planning Staff and Planning Commission on the application of the relevant zoning regulations and the design and development guidelines, to provide advice, as requested, on issues related to design, and to advocate quality design through education, promotion, and other means, as may be appropriate. Per BLMC 2.60.030, the Design Commission is composed of seven members. It is preferred that as many of the members as possible are practicing professionals within the fields of architecture, planning, civil engineering, landscape architecture, and development. Appointees strive to achieve diversity within these fields in so far as possible. No fewer than five members of the design commission shall be residents of the city of Bonney Lake and all members are appointed by the Mayor for a 3-year term.

Regular Meeting Schedule

Time: 6:00 p.m. on the Second and Fourth Wednesday of the month, as needed

Location: Bonney Lake Justice & Municipal Center, 9002 Main ST E, Bonney Lake, WA 98391

Agendas & Minutes

You can access the current agenda below and past agendas via the Digital Archives

Design Commission Meeting Date


Staff Reports

Minutes Or Summary

Audio (MP3 Format)

Video (MP4 Format)

October 13, 2021  Agenda  Report       
September 22, 2021  Agenda  Report       
February 12, 2020 (Meeting Canceled  Lack of Quorum)  Agenda   Report   --  --  
January 8, 2020   Agenda    Report    Audio   
November 13, 2019  Agenda   Report Minutes  Audio   
September 25, 2019 Agenda Report Minutes  Audio  

To download and view PDF files on this page you must have Adobe Acrobat Reader or another PDF reader installed on your computer system. If you do not have this program you can download Adobe Acrobat Reader for free at:
PDF Reader Download

Design Commission Secretary
Planning and Building Supervisor

Commissioner 1:
Debbie Strous-Boyd (Chair)
Commissioner 2:

Jamie Bendon 
Commissioner 3:

Thomas Kennedy (Vice-Chair)
Commissioner 4:

Commissioner 5:
David Colbeth 
Commissioner 6:
Paul Webber 
Commissioner 7:
Joseph Parente